Image Upload from user-facing webpage to DatoCMS, without revealing API key (edited title)

Describe the issue:

Hi, Iā€™m trying to upload an image to dato using the Content Management API with Next JS and the app router.
Everything is working fine when i run it on the client side however, iā€™m afraid im expossing my API KEY as shown bellow. Iā€™m using the ā€œBrowser: Create an upload from a File or Blob objectā€ from the docs

const client = buildClient({
apiToken: ${process.env.NEXT_DATOCMS_API_TOKEN},
});

Iā€™m probably being a noob here but can you guys give me some insights on how to protect the API KEY or point me on the correct path on how to handle this?

if it helps, this is my createUpload function.

function createUpload(file) {
  return client.uploads.createFromFileOrBlob({
    fileOrBlob: file,
    filename: file.name,
    skipCreationIfAlreadyExists: true,

onProgress: (info: any) => {
      console.log("Phase:", info.type);
      console.log("Details:", info.payload);
    },
  });
}

and iā€™m getting the file from an input

<input type="file" accept="images/*" />

Thanks in advance!

Hi @ivo,

Just to make sure I understand the use case here, are you trying to make it so that your website users can upload images directly to your Dato instance?

If so, I would look into using a Next.js Route Handler (the equivalent of API routes in the Pages router) to act as middleware between the client and your DatoCMS instance. The Route Handlers live on the Next.js backend (like Vercel, if youā€™re hosting there) and can read your API keys in env vars without the client being able to.

Your env vars should NOT be prefixed with NEXT_PUBLIC_, since in this case only the Node server needs them, not the clientsā€™ browsers.