Best practices for organizing website navigation

Hi, I am new to DatoCMS and trying to figure out a good solution for handling a collection of navigation items that would reference single instance models for pages in my website. I have my page models all set up and wanted to either query for the list of Pages itself, or create a model for Menu that would hold references to each of these page models. Can anyone point me in the right direction for best practices in organizing website navigation? Thank you!

Hi @JLernDesign, and welcome to DatoCMS!

You can make a single-link field in your menu_item model. That can link to the other single-instance page models, like this:

Then when you edit a menu item, you can link it to one of the single-instance models:

The dropdown is clearer than the input box right now, because the single-instance models don’t have record titles set up, so they just chose a random text field to use as its name, e.g.:

(You can fix that by giving those single instance models another text field to use as their names. Or just use the dropdown.)

In any case, once you have that set up, you can then query menu_items for all the single-instance models they link to, like this:

query MyQuery {
  allMenuItems {
    id
    title
    slug
    model {
      ... on AboutRecord {
        id
        _modelApiKey
      }
      ... on ExpertiseRecord {
        id
				_modelApiKey
      }
      ... on PsilocybinRecord {
        id
        _modelApiKey
      }
      ... on ServicesPageRecord {
        id
        _modelApiKey
      }
    }
  }
}

I forked your project into a sandbox environment so you can take a look as an example. I’ll DM you the link in a moment here.

However, I should note that this is a somewhat unusual way to compose schema for multiple pages. Single-instance models might make sense for really unusual pages (like a contact form) , but you don’t necessarily need a separate model type for every informational page.